Twitter Kills “Do Not Track” Option from Privacy Settings

If you’ve recently logged into your Twitter account, you must have come across a notification regarding the changes to the privacy policy. In case you were notified but you opted to cancel-out, assuming usual nagging feedback forms, you’ve missed something significant. While the microblogging site has given more control to the individuals over their data and how it is used to serve them, “Do Not Track” option has been killed.

This development is against the norm followed by all the major browsers who believe in allowing users to delete the history of their previous website visits. Twitter has confessed that some of its partnership agreements does allow them to connect non-personal and device-level data to be tallied with your name and email, unless you intentionally and actively choose otherwise. Unethical? Probably.

A Move to Lure Advertisers
If the competition from Facebook, WhatsApp, and YouTube wasn’t already mountainous enough, Instagram, and Snapchat have eaten-up a significant chunk of the social media market in the recent past. Twitter is now over a decade old and needs to generate more revenue. This move to expand privacy settings is probably aimed at helping advertisers to target you on the platform, and the absence of “Do Not Track” option is along the similar lines. While you still will be able to opt out of personalized ads and data tracking, leaving these options turned on will mean your browsing history from other devices will be tracked, leaving you as a prey for the advertisers.

European Countries Excluded
Though Twitter claims that these changes in privacy policy will allow them to enhance user experience with more personalized services – bringing stories, content, and brands of your liking to you, they’ve excluded the member countries of the European Union. In these countries, user data protection policies are more stringent than the other parts of the world.

Twitter has promised to offer more granular privacy controls.